Tuesday, May 27, 2014

NCFL Success

The prestigious Grand National Tournament for the National Catholic Forensics League was held this past weekend in Chicago, and a contingent of the Apple Valley Speech and Debate team comprised of both seasoned seniors and sophomores put in performances to make themselves and their school proud. Special recognition is due to Julie Manning, who earned 5th place overall in the category of Declamation in just her sophomore year. Two other sophomores advanced to Quarterfinals: Teja Lawrence, also in Declamation, and Moti Begna in Original Oratory. A number of Apple Valley competitors advanced into the elimination rounds, including sophomore Stephanie Kahle in Dramatic Interpretation and senior Caroline Berg in Original Oratory. Three other Apple Valley speakers contributed noteworthy performances to be proud of despite not advancing. Sophomore Cassandra Edlund and senior Rebecca Crepeau in Dramatic Interpretation as well as Jordan Larson in Original Oratory all put forth incredible efforts in their final organized high school forensics tournament.

The Apple Valley debaters who competed at the National Tournament faced some of the toughest competition in the country, and although neither entry was able to advance into the elimination rounds, their achievements are worthy of our praise. In Public Forum, junior Margo Sanders and senior Andrea Aguilar came together to . Senior Lincoln-Douglas debater Maddy Ober contributed a and will hope to apply what she learned from this tournament at the National Speech and Debate Tournament in Kansas City in a few weeks. Joining Maddy in Kansas City will be fellow Lincoln-Douglas debater Claire Hoffa and speakers Moti Begna, Caroline Berg, and Stephanie Kahle. Please take the time to congratulate all of these participants on their stellar tournament, seasons, and careers, and wish them best of luck as they prepare for the final showdown in Kansas City!

Thursday, May 15, 2014

Banquet Awards 2014

The Apple Valley Speech and Debate team celebrated the conclusion of its local 2013-2014 season this Wednesday with its annual banquet. Below are some of the notable awards and honorees from the evening.

Debate Specialty Awards

Most Improved: Sophie Ober

Most Persistent: Chris Ramsumair

Most Promising LD Debater: Prince Hyeamang

Most Determined: Grace Hoffa

Outstanding Varsity LD Debater: Maddy Ober

Speech specialty

Distinguished Career Award: Olivia Schiffman

Most Resilient: Anna Gravrok

Most Persistent: Grace Barnstead

Senior Speaker/Debaters: Andrea Aguilar & Maddy Ober

Most Improved: Rebecca Crepeau

Wayne Brinton Spirit Award: Caylin Stately

Chris Reiland Memorial Award: Jordan Larson

Wycoff Star Award:  Caroline Berg

In addition to these senior awards, junior Grace Hoffa earned the distinction of reaching the highest level of membership in the Speech and Debate Association. Grace has accumulated 1,500 points in just three years in high school forensics, earning the level of Premier Distinction in the Speech and Debate Association. Well done, Grace!


Andrea Aguilar (Public Forum)

Rebecca Crepeau (Prose & Poetry)

Jordan Larson (Original Oratory)

Margo Sanders (Public Forum)

Cassandra Edlund (Prose&Poetry)

Teja Lawrence (Declamation)

Julie Manning (Declamation)

NFL Qual

Claire Hoffa (Lincoln Douglas)

Both NCFL and NFLs

Caroline Berg (Original Oratory)

Maddy Ober (Lincoln Douglas)

Stephanie Kahle (Humorous)

Moti Begna (Original Oratory)

MSHSL Lincoln-Douglas State Debate Tournament

Grace Hoffa – 9th overall

Maddy Ober – Participant

MSHSL State Public Forum Debate Tournament

Andrea Aguilar & Margo Sanders (Quaterfinalists)

Novice/JV State Debate Tournament

The performance of the Apple Valley debate team’s Novice and Junior Varsity members at this year’s State Debate tournament is also worthy of revisiting. In the Junior Varsity division of Lincoln Douglas, Apple Valley took the top three spots with sophomores Frankie Kelly, Prince Hyeamang, and Sophie Ober. Another sophomore, Claire Hoffa, also advanced into the elimination rounds of the JV LD division. A number of Apple Valley freshman debaters advanced into elimination rounds in the Novice LD division of the tournament. Ashley Knapp  and Kylie Maxfield had the biggest impact, both advancing into the quarterfinal round, while John Boals and Henry Dikeman finished in the octafinal round. Grace Dougan, Taylor Karhatsu, and Lizzy Rhinehart were also able to advance into the elimination rounds. Congratulations to all the young stars of this year’s Debate squad!