Thursday, May 15, 2014

Banquet Awards 2014

The Apple Valley Speech and Debate team celebrated the conclusion of its local 2013-2014 season this Wednesday with its annual banquet. Below are some of the notable awards and honorees from the evening.

Debate Specialty Awards

Most Improved: Sophie Ober

Most Persistent: Chris Ramsumair

Most Promising LD Debater: Prince Hyeamang

Most Determined: Grace Hoffa

Outstanding Varsity LD Debater: Maddy Ober

Speech specialty

Distinguished Career Award: Olivia Schiffman

Most Resilient: Anna Gravrok

Most Persistent: Grace Barnstead

Senior Speaker/Debaters: Andrea Aguilar & Maddy Ober

Most Improved: Rebecca Crepeau

Wayne Brinton Spirit Award: Caylin Stately

Chris Reiland Memorial Award: Jordan Larson

Wycoff Star Award:  Caroline Berg

In addition to these senior awards, junior Grace Hoffa earned the distinction of reaching the highest level of membership in the Speech and Debate Association. Grace has accumulated 1,500 points in just three years in high school forensics, earning the level of Premier Distinction in the Speech and Debate Association. Well done, Grace!


Andrea Aguilar (Public Forum)

Rebecca Crepeau (Prose & Poetry)

Jordan Larson (Original Oratory)

Margo Sanders (Public Forum)

Cassandra Edlund (Prose&Poetry)

Teja Lawrence (Declamation)

Julie Manning (Declamation)

NFL Qual

Claire Hoffa (Lincoln Douglas)

Both NCFL and NFLs

Caroline Berg (Original Oratory)

Maddy Ober (Lincoln Douglas)

Stephanie Kahle (Humorous)

Moti Begna (Original Oratory)

MSHSL Lincoln-Douglas State Debate Tournament

Grace Hoffa – 9th overall

Maddy Ober – Participant

MSHSL State Public Forum Debate Tournament

Andrea Aguilar & Margo Sanders (Quaterfinalists)

Novice/JV State Debate Tournament

The performance of the Apple Valley debate team’s Novice and Junior Varsity members at this year’s State Debate tournament is also worthy of revisiting. In the Junior Varsity division of Lincoln Douglas, Apple Valley took the top three spots with sophomores Frankie Kelly, Prince Hyeamang, and Sophie Ober. Another sophomore, Claire Hoffa, also advanced into the elimination rounds of the JV LD division. A number of Apple Valley freshman debaters advanced into elimination rounds in the Novice LD division of the tournament. Ashley Knapp  and Kylie Maxfield had the biggest impact, both advancing into the quarterfinal round, while John Boals and Henry Dikeman finished in the octafinal round. Grace Dougan, Taylor Karhatsu, and Lizzy Rhinehart were also able to advance into the elimination rounds. Congratulations to all the young stars of this year’s Debate squad!

No comments:

Post a Comment